Three-time champion Mohamed ElShorbagy looks to wrestle it back from the grasp of fellow Egyptian Ali Farag at the Khalifa International Tennis & Squash Complex between November 1st & 7th for the World No.1 spot at the 2020 Qatar Classic PSA Platinum tournament.

Ali Farag, the 2018 champion, will overthrow ElShorbagy as the world’s leading male player on the day the tournament kicks off courtesy of his run to the final at the CIB Egyptian Open last week in front of the Great Pyramid of Giza, where he beat World Champion Tarek Momen to lift the first Platinum title of the 2020-21 season.

Meanwhile, French veteran and former World No.1 Gregory Gaultier have taken one of the two wildcard spots for the event. The 37-year-old – who reached the quarter-finals at the Pyramids – will play Spain’s Iker Pajares Bernabeu in round one, where a win would pit him against CIB PSA World Tour Finals winner Marwan ElShorbagy.

Prize money for the tournament will total $175,000.

2020 Qatar Classic: Draw

[1] Mohamed ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)

George Parker (ENG) v [17/32] Mostafa Asal (EGY)

[17/32] Nicolas Mueller (SUI) v Youssef Ibrahim (EGY)

Auguste Dussourd (FRA) v [17/32] Cesar Salazar (MEX)

[9/16] Omar Mosaad (EGY) (bye)

Benjamin Aubert (FRA) v [17/32] Borja Golan (ESP)

[916] Fares Dessouky (EGY) [bye]

[8] Simon Rösner (GER) (bye)

[7] Marwan ElShorbagy (EGY) (bye)

[WC] Gregory Gaultier (FRA) v [17/32] Iker Pajares Bernabeu (ESP)

[916] Saurav Ghosal (IND) (bye)

Mahesh Mangaonkar (IND) v [17/32] Raphael Kandra (GER)

[9/16] Gregoire Marche (FRA) (bye)

[WC] Syed Azlan Amjad (QAT) v [17/32] Mohamed ElSherbini (EGY)

[17/32] Adrian Waller (ENG) v Ramit Tandon (IND)

[3] Karim Abdel Gawad (EGY) (bye)

[4] Tarek Momen (EGY) (bye)

Tayyab Aslam (EGY) v [17/32] Youssef Soliman (EGY)

[9/16] Zahed Salem (EGY) (bye)

[9/16] Joel Makin (WAL) (bye)

[17/32] Tom Richards (ENG) v Nathan Lake (ENG)

Victor Crouin (FRA) v [17/32] Mathieu Castagnet (FRA)

[9/16] Mohamed Abouelghar (EGY) (bye)

[5] Paul Coll (NZL) (bye)

[6] Diego Elias (PER) (bye)

Patrick Rooney (ENG) v [17/32] Abdulla Mohd Al Tamimi (QAT)

[17/32] Greg Lobban (SCO) v Baptiste Masotti (FRA)

[9/16] Miguel Rodriguez (COL) (bye)

[17/32] Eain Yow Ng (MAS) v Lucas Serme (FRA)

Vikram Malhotra (IND) v [17/32] Declan James (ENG)

[17/32] James Willstrop (ENG) v Richie Fallows (ENG)

[2] Ali Farag (EGY) (bye)